The Chapel’s brief history

Under the reign of Louis XIII and the action of Richelieu who cen­tral­ized power, Embrun lost its mil­i­tary pur­pose. Its citadel, in ruins after the pas­sage of Lesdiguières, and strongly recalling the dis­sen­sions of yesteryear, was razed by the deci­sion of the King (February 1633). After having restored part of the for­ti­fi­ca­tions, Louis XIII then decided to donate the cleared land to the Capuchins, a Franciscan men­di­cant order, whose cre­ation he autho­rized in Embrun by let­ters patent of August 12, 1633.

Indeed, the Capuchin Friars Minor of Embrun had occu­pied since their cre­ation a house intended for a hos­pice to the north of the old parish church of Saint-Vincent. But the con­text of the Counter-Reformation and the action of the new Archbishop of Embrun, William de Hugues (1612-1648), him­self trained among the Franciscans, were favor­able to their devel­op­ment. From 1644, the con­struc­tion of a con­vent began on the grounds of the old citadel. It was com­pleted the fol­lowing year, in 1645, thanks to the dona­tions of a cer­tain Chantaraine des Crottes, the canon and sac­ristan Hugues Emé (who donated his library to them) and the largesse of Monsignor Guillaume d´Hugues.

This con­vent con­sisted of an east-west ori­ented church and a group of con­vent build­ings attached to the south, orga­nized around a cloister. On either side of the build­ings were siz­able gar­dens, pro­viding sus­te­nance for the thirty or so brothers who could be wel­comed there. As the church still tes­ti­fies, one can imagine that all the build­ings of the con­vent were extremely sober and sup­ported little dec­o­ra­tion. Indeed, the cre­ation of this new order of Capuchins, founded in Italy, per­fectly illus­trates the advent of a new inte­rior reli­gion, intended to cor­rect past abuses. The order advo­cated an authentic return to their roots, a life marked by the aus­terity of its mem­bers who, them­selves making vows of poverty, lived mainly on alms.

Following the attack of the Duke of Savoy in the region, during the summer of 1692, at the origin of a new siege of Embrun, Vauban was sent urgently to the front of the Alps in order to improve the defense of the sector. . It was on this occa­sion that he wrote his two "Project (s) for the for­ti­fi­ca­tion of Embrun" dated December 9 and 16, 1692, pro­jects which would involve a major upheaval in the neigh­bor­hood. In fact, in the second pro­ject, adopted by the king, Vauban rec­om­mends, in addi­tion to the reuse of existing bas­tions, the ampli­fi­ca­tion of ditches, the cre­ation of glacis, and cov­ered paths. He ordered the con­struc­tion of sev­eral build­ings including a bar­racks called Delaroche and a powder magazine. These new build­ings, per­fectly iden­ti­fi­able on the relief map of Embrun from 1701, will be located around the Capuchin con­vent, still in oper­a­tion. Despite these major upheavals, the build­ings of the con­vent did not undergo a few changes. Apart from the enlarge­ment of a wing (which appears on the 18th-cen­tury plans) and some main­te­nance work (repair of the plaster in 1731, etc.), the con­vent con­tinued to func­tion until 1790, although the poverty linked to the wars and bad har­vests, reduced alms and the number of reli­gious. However, the dis­trict con­tinued to become denser with the con­struc­tion of a food store (now Handling) in 1784.

When the French Revolution started, resulting in the dis­so­lu­tion of orders and the con­fis­ca­tion of the goods of the Clergy and the Crown, the Capuchins, num­bering 7 fathers and 4 brothers, had the choice between regaining their freedom, pro­vided with a pen­sion or be grouped else­where. They even­tu­ally stayed there for a while. On March 13, 1792, the bells and other brass from the churches of Embrun, including that of the Capuchins, were sent to Montpellier to be melted down. Following a riot, the con­vent church was per­ma­nently closed on April 15 of the same year.

The Delaroche district, district of the Chapelle des Capucins

The end of the 18th and 19th cen­turies opened a new page in the his­tory of the Capuchin con­vent. Following the sup­pres­sion of the order, the con­ven­tional build­ings under­went a major restruc­turing to serve the Army, no doubt at the time of the transfer of a reg­i­ment of cuirassiers and artillerymen to Embrun, in 1811. The cloister was sup­pressed and all or part of the wings were destroyed or altered in order to serve as addi­tional spaces to the mil­i­tary build­ings already existing in the dis­trict.

In the middle of the 19th cen­tury, the new wings housed the Engineers, the Governor of the place, and the General Staff. In 1842, the church building was enlarged and trans­formed into an arsenal, weapons room (fencing). Indeed, the instal­la­tion of an artillery reg­i­ment at the begin­ning of the cen­tury had made it nec­es­sary to build an arsenal (store for artillery pieces) that the place of Embrun did not have. In 1850, in the court­yard of the offi­cers’ pavilion, a cis­tern was dug to supply the mil­i­tary dis­trict.

Despite total or par­tial absences and the down­grading of the stronghold of Embrun in 1878, the mil­i­tary pres­ence was main­tained, notably with the pres­ence of Battalions of Alpine Chasseurs (12 BCA, 14 BCA, 30 BCA). A number of new build­ings are also emerging as the powder magazine of the Capuchin bas­tion and other small premises or shel­ters for vehi­cles/ani­mals.

During the interwar period, this pres­ence was fur­ther increased with the pas­sage of the 159th Alpine Infantry Regiment, the 72nd Alpine Fortress Battalion, and the 6th Moroccan Tirailleurs Regiment. That also left a trace of his pas­sage through a painted coat of arms.

After the Second World War, the mil­i­tary occu­piers were few. Let us quote the Direction des Camps de l’Aéronavale (DCAN) installed in the offi­cers’ pavilion as well as a com­pany of the 159th Alpine Infantry Regiment, trans­ferred on-site until August 1981, during the ren­o­va­tion works of one of the bar­racks. Berwick in Briançon. The liq­uidator (last unit on site) was the CM 144 (Center Mobilisateur d’Infanterie 144) After this date, the lib­er­a­tion of the mil­i­tary influ­ence begins until the final depar­ture of the army around 1982-1983 offering the Municipality a unique oppor­tu­nity for urban recom­po­si­tion.

Brève histoire de la chapelle

Sous le règne de Louis XIII et l’action de Richelieu qui cen­tra­lise le pou­voir, Embrun perd son rôle mili­taire. Sa cita­delle, alors en ruine suite au pas­sage de Lesdiguières, et rap­pe­lant for­te­ment les dis­sen­sions d’antan, est rasée sur déci­sion du Roi (février 1633). Après avoir réta­bli une partie des for­ti­fi­ca­tions, Louis XIII décide alors de faire don des ter­rains déga­gés aux Capucins, ordre men­diant fran­cis­cain, dont il a auto­risé la créa­tion à Embrun par let­tres paten­tes du 12 août 1633.

En effet, les frères mineurs Capucins d’Embrun occu­paient depuis leur créa­tion une maison à voca­tion d’hos­pice au nord de l’ancienne église parois­siale de Saint-Vincent. Mais le contexte de la Contre-Réforme et l’action du nouvel arche­vê­que d’Embrun, Guillaume d’Hugues (1612-1648), lui-même formé chez les fran­cis­cains, furent favo­ra­bles à leur déve­lop­pe­ment. Dès 1644, la cons­truc­tion d’un cou­vent est entre­prise sur les ter­rains de l’ancienne cita­delle. Il sera achevé l’année sui­vante, en 1645 grâce aux dons d’un cer­tain Chantaraine des Crottes, du cha­noine et sacris­tain Hugues Emé (qui leur fera d’ailleurs don de sa biblio­thè­que) et aux lar­ges­ses de Monseigneur Guillaume d’Hugues.

Ce cou­vent se com­po­sait d’une église orien­tée Est-Ouest et d’un ensem­ble de bâti­ments conven­tuels acco­lés au sud, orga­ni­sés autour d’un cloî­tre. De part et d’autre des bâti­ments, se trou­vaient d’impor­tants jar­dins, per­met­tant d’assu­rer la sub­sis­tance de la tren­taine de frères sus­cep­ti­bles d’y être accueillis. Comme en témoi­gne encore l’église, on peut ima­gi­ner que l’ensem­ble des bâti­ments du cou­vent était extrê­me­ment sobre et sup­por­tait peu de décor. En effet, la créa­tion de ce nouvel ordre des Capucins, fondé en Italie, illus­tre par­fai­te­ment l’avè­ne­ment d’une nou­velle reli­gion inté­rieure, des­ti­née à cor­ri­ger les abus passés. L’ordre prô­nait un retour authen­ti­que aux sour­ces, une vie mar­quée par l’aus­té­rité de ses mem­bres qui, fai­sant eux-mêmes vœux de pau­vreté, vivaient essen­tiel­le­ment d’aumô­nes.

Suite à l’atta­que du Duc de Savoie dans la région, durant l’été 1692, à l’ori­gine d’un nou­veau siège d’Embrun, Vauban est envoyé en urgence sur le front des Alpes afin d’amé­lio­rer la défense du sec­teur. C’est à cette occa­sion qu’il rédi­gera ses deux « Projet(s) de la for­ti­fi­ca­tion d’Embrun » daté du 9 et 16 décem­bre 1692, pro­jets qui allaient impli­quer un bou­le­ver­se­ment impor­tant du quar­tier. En effet, dans le second projet, retenu par le roi, Vauban pré­co­nise, outre la réu­ti­li­sa­tion des bas­tions exis­tants, l’ampli­fi­ca­tion des fossés, la créa­tion de glacis et de che­mins cou­verts. Il ordonne la cons­truc­tion de plu­sieurs bâti­ments dont une caserne dite Delaroche et une pou­drière. Ces nou­veaux bâti­ments, par­fai­te­ment iden­ti­fia­bles sur le plan-relief d’Embrun de 1701, seront implan­tés autour du cou­vent des Capucins, tou­jours en acti­vité. Malgré ces impor­tants bou­le­ver­se­ments, les bâti­ments du cou­vent ne connais­sent quant à eux que peu de trans­for­ma­tions. Hormis l’agran­dis­se­ment d’une aile (qui appa­rait sur les plans du XVIIIème siècle) et quel­ques tra­vaux d’entre­tien (réfec­tion des enduits en 1731, …), le cou­vent conti­nue de fonc­tion­ner jusqu’en 1790, bien que la misère liée aux guer­res et aux mau­vai­ses récol­tes, ait fait dimi­nuer les aumô­nes et le nombre de reli­gieux. Le quar­tier conti­nue cepen­dant à se den­si­fier avec la cons­truc­tion d’un maga­sin aux vivres (actuelle Manutention) en 1784.

Lorsque la Révolution fran­çaise éclate, entraî­nant la dis­so­lu­tion des ordres et la confis­ca­tion des biens du Clergé et de la Couronne, les Capucins, au nombre de 7 pères et 4 frères, ont le choix entre repren­dre leur liberté, munis d’une pen­sion, ou être regrou­pés ailleurs. Ils res­te­ront fina­le­ment sur place quel­ques temps. Le 13 mars 1792, les clo­ches et autres cui­vres des églises d’Embrun, dont celle des Capucins, sont envoyées à Montpellier pour être fon­dues. Suite à une émeute, l’église du cou­vent est défi­ni­ti­ve­ment fermée le 15 avril de la même année.

Le quartier Delaroche, quartier de la Chapelle des Capucins

La fin du XVIIIe et le XIXe siècle ouvrent une nou­velle page de l’his­toire du cou­vent des Capucins. Suite à la sup­pres­sion de l’ordre, les bâti­ments conven­tuels connais­sent une impor­tante restruc­tu­ra­tion pour servir à l’Armée, sans doute au moment du trans­fert d’un régi­ment de cui­ras­siers et d’artilleurs à Embrun, en 1811. Le cloî­tre est sup­primé et les ailes sont pour tout ou partie détrui­tes ou rema­niées afin de servir d’espa­ces annexes aux bâti­ments mili­tai­res déjà exis­tants dans le quar­tier.

Au milieu du XIXe siècle, les nou­vel­les ailes abri­tent le Génie, le Gouverneur de la place et l’Etat major. En 1842, le bâti­ment de l’église est agrandi et trans­formé en arse­nal, salle d’armes (escrime) et maga­sins. En effet, l’ins­tal­la­tion d’un régi­ment d’artille­rie au début du siècle avait rendu néces­saire la réa­li­sa­tion d’un arse­nal (maga­sin pour pièces d’artille­rie) que ne pos­sé­dait pas la place d’Embrun. En 1850, dans la cour du pavillon des offi­ciers est creu­sée une citerne qui ali­mente le quar­tier mili­taire.

Malgré des absen­ces tota­les ou par­tiel­les et le déclas­se­ment de la place forte d’Embrun en 1878, la pré­sence mili­taire se main­tient notam­ment avec la pré­sence de Bataillons de Chasseurs Alpins (12 BCA, 14 BCA, 30 BCA). Un cer­tain nombre de nou­veaux bâti­ments voient d’ailleurs le jour comme la pou­drière du bas­tion des Capucins et d’autres petits locaux ou abris pour véhi­cu­les / ani­maux.

Durant l’entre-deux-guer­res, cette pré­sence est de nou­veau accrue avec le pas­sage du 159ème Régiment d’Infanterie Alpine, du 72ème Bataillon Alpin de Forteresse et du 6ème Régiment de Tirailleurs Marocains. Ce der­nier lais­sera d’ailleurs, par un blason peint, la trace de son pas­sage.

Après la seconde Guerre Mondiale, les occu­pants mili­tai­res sont peu nom­breux. Citons la Direction des Camps de l’Aéronavale (DCAN) ins­tal­lée dans le pavillon des Officiers ainsi qu’une com­pa­gnie du 159ème Régiment d’Infanterie Alpine, trans­fé­rée sur place jusqu’en août 1981, durant les tra­vaux de réno­va­tion d’une des caser­nes Berwick à Briançon. L’organe liqui­da­teur (der­nière unité sur place) sera le CM 144 (Centre Mobilisateur d’Infanterie 144) Après cette date, la libé­ra­tion de l’emprise mili­taire se met en marche jusqu’au départ défi­ni­tif de l’armée vers 1982-1983 offrant à la Commune une oppor­tu­nité unique de recom­po­si­tion urbaine.